Our Governors

Welcome to the Governors’ page

My name is Gill Mortimer and I am the Chair of the local Governing Body at Great Bedwyn School. Governors work in a voluntary capacity with the Headteacher and the senior leadership team to provide the strategic direction for the school.

Our role is to ensure that the children receive the very best education that Great Bedwyn School can provide. We don’t get involved in the day-to-day running of the school, but set the criteria by which the school is managed. Governors both support and challenge the Headteacher and senior staff to ensure that the school performs as well as it should and that all pupils have the very best opportunity to learn and grow.

We all come from very different backgrounds and are always looking for fresh faces to join us. If it is something that you want to know more about then please contact the school office and one of us will be in touch with you.

The Chair of the Local Governorning Body can be contacted via the Clerk to Governors at: 


Current GovernorsGovernor typeAppointed/elected by:Term of office start date:Term of office end date:Date stepped down:Responsibilities:
Michelle PerrettStaffEx officio01/12/1825/12/50
Louise CarlisleStaffStaff19/01/1718/01/21
Lissa GibbinsParentParents06/10/1505/10/19
Samantha HowellParentParents07/10/1311/09/19Vice Chair
Michael McHughFoundationCorporate Board
Ex Officio
Gillian MortimerCo-opted
Governing Body
Jamie PearsonFoundationCorporate Board01/10/15
Sarah CookCo-optedGoverning Body01/01/1731/12/18
Sylvia WyattCo-optedGoverning Body01/01/1731/12/18
Tim CattParentParents11/10/1710/10/21
Nuala HawkinsParentParents23/11/1622/11/20
Nicola WilliamsStaffEx officio01/12/1828/09/1828/09/18
Gordon StoneCo-optedGoverning Body01/01/1531/12/1831/12/18
Jayanti SainsburyCo-optedGoverning Body29/09/1628/09/1828/09/18
Governance roles at other educational establishments:Relevant business interests:Relationship to school staffAttendance at Meetings 2018-19
Louise CarlisleNil return
Sarah CookNil return
Lissa GibbinsNil return
Nuala HawkinsTeaches at St John's, Marlborough
Samantha HowellNil return
Niki JonesPrincipal at St Katharine's
Michael McHughFoundation ex-officio at St Katharine'sNil return
Gillian MortimerNil return
Jamie PearsonNil return
Jayanti SainsburyNil return
Gordon StoneParish Councillor
Nicola WilliamsNil return
Sylvia WyattNil return